Cross-functional talents like Maisy

Women aren't software engineers only, they also are great designers

Diop Papa Makhtar
3 min readAug 16, 2021
Maisy Leigh — frontend engineer and Designer

Maisy Leigh is a frontend engineer and Designer, cross-functional she is because from mood board to IDE Maisy is doing amazing works by designing and coding. That’s At the intersection of different skills that magical works are often made. Maisy used her design skill to creatively draft a beautiful website for her sister who is an artist and artistic is the website design that Maisy made for her sister. How she uses grids when sketching shows that she is a really well trained and careful designer but not only because just after that you can see her animating a character like a real motion designer would do because she wanted to tell us the story of her sister with a hero animation like I am willing to the story of Maisy with cheap words. Maisy and I and I hope you too understand the importance of storytelling and this is more true when you want to design a website that is anything other than a medium for storytelling.

Once all these visuals are created here is Maisy jumping on her IDE for another artistic work but now using keywords of a computer language. yes, Coding is Art and it is hard also Then I am suggesting Mbenda to Choose Coding is Art for her coming Line of branded T-shirts she is will to bring to the marketplace. Hope I will have time to come up with some design for Mbenda like I am producing some words for Maisy right now and maybe Maisy’s sister artistic talent can be of help for Coding is Art Line of T-shirts.

Women like Maisy are there filled with skills and it will be a loss for us if we don't promote women like Maisy all these women doing amazing technical works that seem to be reserved to men if we don't have the right eye for seeing that women were at the beginning of computers. I don't know how often I could remind that women used the handle the perforated cards that were the containers of computer programs destined to mainframe computers.

Today that’s at home using all these great devices like Mac and PC that women are producing amazing tech works that matter and they are not doing just that because they are also sharing their journey with you on youtube as a signal that tells you, Yes You Can.

Yes, you girl can be this talent like Maisy doing important tech work into your own comfort zone and I hope you also will share for you to know that they also can. That’s how this world evolves like a domino effect about people like us do things like this.

I have been writing about women like Maisy and I know I could be writing every day about one of them all my life without writing about all of them and this a part of why I decided to write about them because having this commitment will guarantee that I will have every day an interesting idea to write about what could make me a good writer after a long pool of bad writing. You can read all these writings about women in tech here.

here is Maisy explaining how she made a website for her sister

here is the website that Maisy made for her sister

You also can learn React and make a beautiful web application like that.

PS: seeing the beautiful keyboards of Maisy reminded me about this great tech-enabled product idea that I was talking about in this article titled this MacBook Extension for all laptops

--

--